Central Illinois Conceal Carry

Central Illinois Class to get a Conceal Carry Permit to Conceal Carry a Firearm in Illinois

Central Illinois Conceal Carry - Central Illinois Class to get a Conceal Carry Permit to Conceal Carry a Firearm in Illinois

CCW Info

 

CCL Class Peoria, IL

Carry a Concealed firearm in Illinois

We would like to offer some insight to the Illinois Concealed Carry Permit Process.
CCW means “Carrying Concealed Weapons”
Illinois is allowing conceal carry permits under the state law known as HB 183.
There are a few ways you could be denied:
  1. Any law enforcement agency may submit an objection to a license applicant based upon a reasonable suspicion that the applicant is a danger to himself or herself or others, or a threat to public safety.
  2. If an applicant has 5 or more arrests for any reason, that have been entered into the Criminal History Records Information (CHRI) System, within the 7 years preceding the date of application for a license, or has 3 or more arrests within within 7 years preceding the application for any combination of gang-related offenses.
  3. If no objections are received from law enforcement the license shall be granted within 90 days of completing the application. If an objection is received the Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board shall issue a decision within 30 days of denial in most cases.
Qualifications for a License are:
  1. 21 years of age
  2. Current and valid Illinois FOID Card
  3. Have not been convicted or found guilty in this or any other state of:
    • Felony
    • A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the preceding 5 years.
    • 2 or more violations related to DWI, drugs or alcohol, within the preceding 5 years.
  4. No pending arrest warrant prosecution, or proceeding that would disqualify owning or possessing a firearm.
  5. No residential or court ordered treatment for alcohol or drugs within preceding 5 years.
  6. Has completed firearms training and education totaling 16 Hours.

 

Illinois State License Fees are:
Initial application $150.00 Non-Refundable. Good for 5 Years.
Non-resident $ 300.00. Non-Refundable. Good for 5 Years.
Renewal $ 150.00 Non-Refundable. Good for 5 Years.

 

 

Prohibited Areas  – These are numerous and will be covered thoroughly in the Classroom portion of your training.
Training – An applicant for a new license shall provide proof of completion of firearms training from an approved training facility of 16 hours, which must include range qualifications. The Illinois State Police approved class must include the following:
  1. Firearm safety
  2. Basic principle of marksmanship
  3. Care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a firearm
  4. All applicable state and federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm
  5. Instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm
  6. An applicant for a new license shall provide proof from a certified instructor they have passed a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm consisting of:
    • A minimum of 30 rounds.
    • 10 shots at 5, 7, and 10 yards. These rounds will be shot at a target (B-27 silhouette) requiring a passing score of 70% or better. (21 out of 30 shots on target)
    • Renewal applicant will require 3 hours of training.
8 hour safety training exemptions are listed below:
  1. Active, retired, or honorably discharged member of the US Armed Forces – DD214 military card
  2. NRA Basic Pistol
  3. NRA Personal Protection Inside The Home
  4. NRA Personal Protection Outside The Home
  5. Prior Law Enforcement/Officer Firearms Training
  6. Any combined 4 hr approved courses-see list below
  Course Title   Acceptable Credit
  Illinois   Hunter Safety Course   4 hours
  Utah   Conceal Carry License   4 hours
  Florida   Conceal Carry License   4 hours
  Nevada   Conceal Carry License   4 hours
  Missouri   Conceal Carry License   4 hours
  Kentucky   Conceal Carry License   4 hours
  Michigan   Conceal Carry License   4 hours
  Chicago   Firearms Safety Course   4 hours
  NRA Basic Pistol   8 hours
  NRA Personal Protection in the Home   8 hours
  NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home   8 hours

The required documentation for prior law enforcement officers, 8 hour exemption, is a letter from their former department on department letterhead stating:

  1. They have completed the State of Illinois 40 hour police firearm course
  2. They left the department on good terms
  3. The letter must be signed with the printed name, position, and contact information of the person signing.

Training credits do not apply to the 2nd half of the 16 hour class, everyone must take the last 8 hours of the class.

Anyone attending one of our CICC classes should bring the following with them to class:

  • Certificates or proof of your first 8 hours of training. 
  • Handgun, unloaded and encased, it can be brought into the classroom. However, no live ammunition can be brought into the classroom – it is to be left in your vehicle. The Instructor will safety check your handgun.
  • 100 rounds of factory FMJ brass case ammunition for your handgun
  • Eye protection & hearing protection.
  • Pistol Cleaning Kit, if you have one. If not, CICC has plenty of pistol cleaning supplies available for you at no charge.
  • Wear comfortable and casual clothes, appropriate for the shooting range.
  • Smart Phone – Ipad – Laptop, if you have one for notes and any website reference. We have free Wi-Fi available in the classroom.
  • Snacks / drinks are fine during class – our environment is very casual.
  • You can go out for lunch or bring a sack lunch – Whichever you prefer. Coffee, Snacks, & Drinks will be provided
  • Good Attitude
You will be disqualified from a Central Illinois Conceal Carry Class for:
  1. Not following the orders of the certified instructor.
  2. Not handling the firearm in a safe and responsible manner.
  3. Failure to score 70% on the range.

 

If you are wondering what kind of handgun to purchase for conceal carry, I advise taking the class first. You will have learned so much more after taking the class and you will be better able to select a handgun, holster, and conceal carry method. If you do not own a handgun, and want to take the course, Central Illinois Conceal Carry has handguns available on a loaner basis, for you to use.

 

States that will recognize Illinois CCW Permit – Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Montana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Wisconsin

Illinois does not have reciprocity with any other state. If a student from Texas, Arkansas, Mississippi, or Virginia wants to take the 16 hours course they can apply for a non-resident Illinois CCW permit. Use caution and be familiar with each states CCW laws and regulations.

Upon completion of our class you will qualify for a Florida Conceal Carry Permit should you wish to apply for one. The website to apply for your Florida permit is: Florida CCW Permit Application By obtaining your Florida Permit you will have 35 States that you can conceal carry in and through. Central Illinois Conceal Carry will provide you a Florida application for FREE and further explain the process in class, should you want to pursue this option.

We encourage each and every one of you to join the NRA. Click the link on the side of the page to help protect and preserve our 2nd Amendment Rights. If you link to the NRA from the Central Illinois Conceal Carry website you will receive a significant discount on your NRA membership.

Add these links to your favorites for more information:

ccl4illinois.com

https://membership.nrahq.org/forms/signup.asp?campaignid=XI028873

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/98/PDF/098-0063.pdf

http://www.usacarry.com/concealed_carry_permit_information.html

http://www.ccweapons.com/

 http://www.senategop.state.il.us/Portals/0/Concealed-Carry/13%20Concealed%20Carry%20Report.pdf